A Brief Wander Back North

My actual job has me on the road pretty much year round.  Living out of a set of suitcases isn’t as horrible as you’d think although it turns out that I have far too many long sleeve shirts compared to short sleeved shirts but that’s another issue.

For the month of July I ended up being in the Boston metro area, which is pretty much the definition of the north, especially for people from down south, both culturally and verbally.  My family is all originally from New England, so whenever I get around family or back in the area in general the letter R pretty much disappears from my vocabulary.  “Harbor” becomes “Haba” “Monster” becomes “Monsta” and so forth.  I didn’t get a chance to do a lot of what I was hoping to, there’s a friend who’s working up in the White Mountains that I didn’t get the opportunity to see for example, but I was able to get some amazing photography done.

I’m generally more comfortable in northern cities and towns.  I’ve never really kept this a secret, I don’t really like big cities although I’ve spent a fair amount of time in some.  I’m also not a huge fan of sprawl (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Urban_sprawl for those of you who don’t know what it means.  If you don’t know what it means, there’s a good chance you live in one, and don’t really know anywhere else).  Now needless to say much of the Boston area is sprawl, if you’ve ever been on Rt. 1 you know this.  But, if you take the time to get off of 1, or off 95, you’ll find that even within the sprawl there are still true towns, Beverly for example, and although in many ways a tourism destination Salem remains a true town with distinct neighborhoods that grew organically rather than from a developers notebook.

What was interesting was the fact that many of the people I was working with from the south liked the area.  They were quick to comment on how polite everyone was to them, how they liked the towns visually, and generally had a great time.

Now a few moments of photo bliss for you, along with the links to the website (of course).

Copyright Joshua House 2013

Graves Light outside Boston Harbor.

Copyright Joshua House 2013

Fenway Park home of the Boston Red Sox.

Both these images, and more (including more of Fenway) can be found here at my website.  http://joshua-house.artistwebsites.com/art/all/new+england+and+long+island/all

This entry was posted in American Historic Sites, American History, new england, The Wandering Yankee and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

