The Next Adventure Part 4

The following morning Dodd decided it was time to bite the bullet and get Scott in to discuss the issue.  Knowing that Scott was one of the rare people who preferred to still speak via the phone rather than by text (one of the things that made them work together so well in fact) he dialed the number and waited for Scott to answer.

 

“Hey professor, what’s going on?”

“I need you to come by Hammersley Hall today, when’s good for you?”

“just got out of the pool over here at the rec center, let me shower, and find some breakfast I should be there about ten.  How’s that sound?”

“fine, we’ll be discussing the next semester, and summer, and one other thing.”

“What’s the other thing?  Or don’t I want to know?”

“It’s an administration thing, and apparently, I’ve been tapped to deal with it.”

“Damn, that doesn’t sound good.  You can’t fire PhD students, right?”

“Not directly, no.”

“Alright ten it is then.”

Scott glanced at the stairs as he entered Hammersley Hall and sighed, pushing the button for the elevator.

Getting off on the third floor he worked his way down the hall speaking briefly to the department secretary and checking his mailbox, he headed into Dodd’s office, and closed the door behind him.

“So, Scott, what do you have planned for the summer?”

“I don’t really know.  I’ve not really made plans that far out.  I suppose I should spend it reading and writing.”

“Have you visited him?”

“No.  I don’t know if I want too.”

“You promised him you would, you said it publicly.”

“I know I did.  That was 18 months ago, He’s not going anywhere.”

“There could be a book in it.”

“I don’t care about another fucking book.  I’ve written two, I’ll write more.  It’s all I can do any more. I want to fucking walk again!”

This entry was posted in backpacking, camping, Christianity, fiction, hiking, nomad life, novel, short story, social commentary, Social Justice, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

